Argeles sur Mer

DISCOVER ARGELES SUR MER

Where is ArgelEs sur Mer?

Argelès sur Mer is situated in Pyrénées Orientales, a department in the region Languedoc-Roussillon-Midi-Pyrénées. Lying 20km to the south of Perpignan this town of the Côte Vermeille is close to Elne, Palau-del-Vidre, Saint André, Sorède, Banyuls-sur-Mer and Collioure. There are several means of access open to you: by car using the RD 914 which is a dual carriageway to and from Perpignan, by using the departmental buses or by train using the TER with direct intercity connections from Paris. 

With a total area of 58.67km2 Argelès lies in an area between the foot of the Massif des Albères which form the frontier with Spain and the heart of the Roussillon Plain. The highest point is the peak “Quatre Termes” at 1156m. Its permanent resident population which continues to increase steadily is around 10,000 but is added to by around 650,000 tourists during the summer high season. 

The history of Argeles sur Mer

The presence of 2 Iron Age dolmens, more commonly known as collective tombs, confirms the presence of prehistoric man in this area. The town of Argelès is an ancient city dating back to the Middle Ages with mention first made in documents from 879 under the name “Villa de Argilariis” which makes reference to the clay soil on which the town is built.

In the 10th century, the town benefited from growth and wealth, during which time several architectural monuments were built – some of which can still be admired today. In 1659, the commune became French following the signing of the Treaty of the Pyrenees which allowed Roussillon to become permanently part of France.

It was in February 1939 that the town faced the dramatic “Retirada” (which means retreat in Spanish). More than 450,000 Spaniards were forced to leave their home country and headed for the France-Spanish border following the victory of the dictator, General Franco. The beach at Argelès sur Mer, amongst others, was chosen to site a camp for receiving refugees fleeing from Spain. More than 60 years later, many members of their families still live in the region and their descendants have become French nationals. 

From the 1950s Argelès became a significant tourist resort : after the cruel and painful wars, Argelès sur Mer saw a major turnaround in its economic status as it became the tourist capital of the region. in 1954, the first privately owned campsite was born, heralding the arrival of a development which we were part of. Today, the economy of the town is largely based on tourism and Argelès sur Mer has been classed as a “station balnéaire”( – bathing resort literally) since 1962. It has one of the biggest concentration of campers in Europe. 

Lounge on the beaches

With 7km of sandy beaches and 3 km of rocky coves, the beaches delight both young and old and offer a large variety of activities and clubs which you can enjoy with your family and / or friends. Large areas of the beaches are patrolled and surveyed by lifeguards so your security is assured if you choose to go there. Those who like night time outings will enjoy evenings at the Casino, the amusement parks, the discotheque or the market offering local artisan products at the Centre Beach which is open every evening from 17h to midnight from June 15th to September 15th. 

Its popularity doesn’t wane: the Allée de Pins where you can walk amongst the many shops and restaurants, the tree lined promenade, the 12 hectare pine forest created in 1954 – this is an area where you can walk beside the sea, picnic as a family or just enjoy watching all the people having fun!

Visit the charming old village 

In what is one of the sunniest regions of France, the commune of Argelès welcomes you to discover its typical little narrow streets and will leave you with a lasting memory of all things Catalan. A colourful walk, its walls of Cayrou, the local market, the Museum Casa de les Albères and its numerous festivals await you. 

Discover the Port 

You shouldn’t miss a walk around the young port (just over 20 years old) but is much appreciated by those who love all things nautical or simply by those who enjoy the beauty of the 700 yachts and pleasure craft moored along its quays. Situated where the Massane meets the sea, it’s a lively place where shops and restaurants mingle with all the services necessary for marine activity and water sports. 

Just a short distance from there, the Chateau de Valmy dating from the 19th century with its Park overlooking the town is, without doubt, one of the best viewing points in Argelès sur Mer. Its terraces look out on a magnificent scene covering the village, the port Les Albères hills and the whole length of the coast.

Argeles sur Mer

Découvrez
Argelès-sur-mer

Où se situe ArgelEs sur Mer ?

Argeles sur Mer est située dans le département des Pyrénées-Orientales, en région Languedoc-Roussillon-Midi-Pyrénées. À 20 km au sud de Perpignan, ce canton de la Côte Vermeille avoisine des villages comme Elne, Palau-del-Vidre, Saint-André, Sorède, Banyuls-sur-Mer, et Collioure. Plusieurs voies d’accès s’offrent à vous : en voiture par la RD 914 aménagée en voie rapide en 2 fois 2 voies depuis Perpignan ; desservie par les transports autocaristes du réseau départemental ; et enfin une gare ferroviaire joignable en TER, et des lignes directes Intercités depuis Paris.

Implantée sur une superficie de 58.67 km², des pieds du Massif des Albères au niveau de la frontière espagnole jusqu’au cœur de la plaine du Roussillon, Argelès-sur-Mer possède un sommet culminant, celui du pic des Quatre Termes à 1 156m. Sa population annuelle, en constante augmentation, est de quasiment 10 000 habitants actuellement (les Argelésiens) et atteint jusqu’à 650 000 touristes en pleine saison estivale.

L’histoire d’Argeles sur Mer

La présence de 2 dolmens, ou plus communément appelées tombes collectives, de l’âge des métaux confirme le passage de l’homme préhistorique sur son territoire. La ville d’Argelès est une ancienne cité du moyen-âge, la première observation connue remonte à 879 sous le nom de « Villa de Argilariis » faisant référence à sa terre argileuse sur laquelle elle est construite.

Au 10e siècle la ville connait l’abondance et la richesse, période au cours de laquelle seront édifiés les monuments architecturaux que nous pouvons encore admirer aujourd’hui. En 1659, la commune devient française, suite à la signature du traité des Pyrénées, qui va permettre au Roussillon de devenir définitivement relié à la France.

Nous sommes en février 1939, et la ville est confrontée à un drame civil, c’est la « Retirada » qui signifie retraite en espagnol. Plus de 450 000 Espagnols sont contraints de quitter leur pays et franchissent la frontière franco-espagnole, suite à la victoire du dictateur et général Franco. La plage d’Argelès-sur-Mer, entre autres, est donc choisie pour recevoir l’exode des réfugiés de la guerre civile. Plus de 60 ans après, une grande partie des familles vivent toujours dans la région et leurs descendances sont devenues françaises.

Station touristique de masse dès les années 50 : après les douloureuses guerres, Argelès-sur-Mer rencontre un tournant majeur dans son économie en devenant la capitale touristique de référence de la région. En 1954, le premier camping privé voit le jour, amorçant ainsi l’arrivée d’un développement exponentiel que nous connaissons actuellement. Aujourd’hui, l’économie est basée en grande partie sur le tourisme, Argelès-sur-Mer est classée station balnéaire depuis 1962. L’une des plus grandes en concentration de campeurs d’Europe.

FLÂNEZ SUR SES PLAGES

Avec 7 km de plage de sable et 3 km de criques, ses plages ravissent petits et grands, et proposent diverses activités et clubs de loisirs, à partager en famille ou entre amis. Des périmètres de baignade surveillés vont assurent confort et sécurité. Les amateurs de sorties nocturnes sont comblés par des soirées au casino, son parc d’attractions, sa discothèque ou son marché artisanal au centre plage, ouvert tous les soirs de 17h à minuit du 15 juin au 15 septembre.

Sa popularité n’est plus à démontrer : l’Allée des Pins vous régale de ses savoureuses balades, parmi une multitude de commerces et de restaurants à votre disposition. Avec ses 8 000 pins centenaires, sa pinède de 12 hectares créée en 1954, l’Allée des Pins se fait une joie de vous accueillir en bord de mer, pour des promenades piétonnes et arborées ou pour y pique-niquer en famille.

VISITEZ SON CHARMANT VILLAGE

Dans une des régions les plus ensoleillées de France, la commune d’Argelès vous accueille au cœur d’un dédale de ruelles typiques, et vous imprègne de la mémoire Catalane. Une virée haute en couleur, ses remparts de Cayrou, son marché local, son musée Casa de les Albères, et ses nombreuses festivités vous attendent.

DÉCOUVREZ SON PORT

Faites escale à bord de ce jeune port d’une vingtaine d’années, apprécié des adeptes de la marine ou tout simplement pour la beauté de ses quelques 700 bateaux de plaisance. Situé à l’embouchure du cours d’eau de la Massane, c’est un véritable lieu de vie où se mêlent commerces, restaurants, animations, ainsi que tous les services nécessaires au nautisme.

À quelques pas de là, le château de Valmy datant du 19e siècle, et son parc surplombant la commune, est sans doute l’un des plus beaux points de vue d’Argelès-sur-Mer. Son belvédère vous offre de magnifiques paysages sur le village, le port, les Albères, et tout le littoral.